+266 2221 6000

Call Us

+266 2221 6000

Email Us


Moshoeshoe Rd, Maseru

New ARMFA Executive Committee Elected

New ARMFA Executive Committee Elected

The new African Roads Maintenance Funds Association (ARMFA) Executive Committee was elected during the recent ARMFA Annual General Meeting (AGM) hosted by the Road Fund in Mozambique.

The AGM followed the two-day Annual General Assembly, and was attended by ARMFA Members only, as opposed to the AGA which was attended by a range of stakeholders in the road sector.

Speaking at the AGM, the outgoing ARMFA President Mr. Ali Ipinge thanked members for their support during his two-year tenure, also tabulating some of the achievements of the outgoing committee as well as the challenges they faced. 

Among achievements he talked of included membership recruitment drive where two new members namely Angola and Gabon joined the Association. Revival of old members saw Chad, Uganda and Zimbabwe rejoining the Association as well, he said.

In terms of Finances he highlighted that transfer of funds from Ethiopia to Kenya was successfully done, with Kenya being the new proposed Headquarters of ARMFA. He said audit of Annual Financial Statements 2021 and 2022 was done and completed and there was also an increase in membership fee income with more members showing commitment to pay their dues.

Some of the Challenges the President talked about included the threat of dissolution or merging of Road Funds in some countries into government departments or other agencies, shrinking revenues especially the road maintenance levy/fuel levy, introduction of electric vehicles, impact of climate change as lack of Road Asset Management Systems within Road Funds. 

The new members of the EXCO are as follows:

1 EssaieMoussa AubinMr. Cameroon  President
2 Naimanye  AndrewDr. Uganda   1st Vice-President
3KallonMohamedMr. Sierra Leone   2nd Vice-President
4IpingeAliMr. Namibia  Immediate Past President
5MacuacuaAngelo AntonioProf. Mozambique   Treasurer
6MakaraNkekeletseMr. LesothoChairperson: Southern African Focal Group
7MohamedRashidMr. KenyaChairperson: East Africa Focal Group
8Abdel DjoubarFotorMr. Central African   RepublicChairperson: Central African Focal Group
AliDr. NigerChairperson: West African Focal Group
10!GontebRianusMr. NamibiaInterim Executive Secretary

They will serve the Association for the coming two years.

Share Post


Latest News